Shen’s McCarvill makes state softball first team

MICHAEL KELLY/Gazette Sportswriter Recent Shenendehowa High School graduate Nicole McCarvill has been named to the all-state first team in softball.MICHAEL KELLY/Gazette Sportswriter Recent Shenendehowa High School graduate Nicole McCarvill has been named to the all-state first team in softball.

Gazette Sportswriter

Recent Shenendehowa High School graduate Nicole McCarvill, a pitching standout with plenty of pop at the plate, has been named to the all-state Class AA softball first team.

The Stony Brook-bound McCarvill is joined on the state Class AA first team by Troy’s Hunter Levesque. Five other Section II players earned first team nods, including Isabelle DeChiaro of Cohoes, who made the top Class B group for the third straight year after putting together a 17-5 pitching mark and batting .506 for the Section II champions.

McCarvill went 8-2 with two saves on the mound, and batted .581 with nine home runs and 32 RBIs. She was selected the Suburban Council Most Valuable Player.

Levesque was tabbed the Section II Player of the Year. The University of Pittsburgh-bound pitcher and shortstop went 8-4 and batted .522 with five home runs and 22 RBIs in landing her fourth first-team berth.

Amber Bourdeau of South Glens Falls (Class A), Calista Phippen of Ichabod Crane (Class B), Ava Fitzmaurice of Greenville (Class C) and Jess Vidal of Salem also earned all-state first-team laurels. Maddie Burns of Columbia (Class AA), Kat Stackrow of Averill Park (Class A), Lily Sencer of Cohoes (Class B), Madison Saccento of Ichabod Crane (Class B), Rachel Hall of Greenwich (Class C), Camille Coyne of Hoosic Valley (Class C) and Kayla Bailey of Fort Ann (Class D) made all-state second teams.

Phippen, who has committed to Marist College, was previously selected the Gatorade New York Player of the Year after going 13-2 on the mound with 250 strikeouts over 113.1 innings and batting .483 with 37 RBIs during her junior season. As a sophomore she was picked as the state Class B Player of the Year.

The all-state teams were selected by the New York State Sportswriters and Coaches Organization for Girls Sports.


Nicole McCarvill, Shenendehowa, 12, P/SS (first team); Hunter Levesque, Troy, 12, P/SS (first); Maddie Burns, Columbia, 11, P (second); Allie Lajeunesse, Shaker, 12, P (third); Jenna Hogan, Columbia, 12, OF/1B (fourth); Meg Kutey, Shaker, 11, OF (fourth); Madison Rifenberick, Troy, 9, C (fifth); Ana Gold, Ballston Spa, 8, SS (sixth); Sarah Baluch, Colonie, 11, 1B (seventh).


Amber Bourdeau, South Glens Falls, 12, P (first); Kat Stackrow, Averill Park, 12, 3B (second); Kristen Langdon, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake, 10, P (third); Maddy Capozucca, South Glens Falls, 11, 3B/P (fourth); Chloe Lewandowski, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake, 10, 2B (fifth); Kristin Morin, Averill Park, 12, C (sixth); Jadyn Lee, Averill Park, 10, P (seventh); Audrie Marx, Mohonasen, 12, Ut (seventh).


Isabella DeChiaro, Cohoes, 12, P (first); Calista Phippen, Ichabod Crane, 11, P (first); Lily Sencer, Cohoes, 12, SS (second); Madison Saccento, Ichabod Crane, 12, SS (second); Lauren Kelleher, Schuylerville, 12, P (third); Gabby Cox, Ichabod Crane, 10, OF (fourth); Haleigh Burgess, Cohoes, 10, 3B (fifth).


Ava Fitzmaurice, Greenville, 11, P (first); Rachel Hall, Greenwich, 11, P (second); Camille Coyne, Hoosic Valley, 12, P (second); Rebecca Jeager, Lake George, 10, P (third); Tyler Bergman, Lake George, 8, P/SS (third); Madison Harrington, Mechanicville, 12, C (third); Amanda Kenyon, Mechanicville, 12, SS (third); Alexa Lombardoni, Duanesburg, 12, P (fourth); Baylee Cox, Chatham, 12, SS (fifth); Sabrina Whitehouse, Greenwich, 12, CF (fifth); Arianna Papas, Maple Hill, 11, OF (fifth).


Jess Vidal, Salem, 12, SS (first); Kayla Bailey, Fort Ann, 10, P (second); Allison Vrooman, Fort Ann, 12, 3B (third); Michaela Stockwell, Fort Plain, 9, P (third); Taylor Foran, Fort Ann, 12, 1B (fourth); Kyndra Riche, Salem, 10, P (fourth),

Reach Gazette Sportswriter Jim Schiltz at 395-3143, or @jim_schiltz on Twitter.